Temple Officers

Serving on the Temple Micah Board of Directors has always been hard work. The policy-making body is just that–policy-making. In partnership with the rabbis, the board sets the tone, direction and substance of the congregation. Just like the no-plaques rule which refuses to honor wealthy members just because they are able to donate substantial sums, the board is not a reward for making a large monetary contribution or being famous or politically powerful. It has always been a cross-section of the membership that provides hands-on supervision and participation in the varied aspects of the temple.

Presidents of the Board

  • Theodor Schuchat (z”l) (1963-1968) [when it was Southwest Hebrew Congregation]
  • Stanley Siegel (1968)
  • Sheldon Tromberg (z”l) (1968-1970)
  • Sidney Booth (1970-1972)
  • Bayla White (1972-1974)
  • Mel Goldberg (1974-1976)
  • Aaron Altschul (z”l) (1976-1978)
  • Celia (Futrovsky) Shapiro (1978-1979)
  • Gerry Liebenau (1979-1981)
  • Nancy Elisburg (1981-1983)
  • Vivian Liebenau (z”l) (1983-1985)
  • Richard Futrovsky (z”l) (1985-1987)
  • Jay Grusin (1987-1989)
  • Kate Grausz (z”l) (1989-1991)
  • Jessica Silver (1991-1994)
  • Bobbie Wendel (1994-1996)
  • Cecelia Weinheimer (1996-1998)
  • Peggy Banks (1998-2000)
  • Paul Greenberg (2000-2003)
  • Jonah Gitlitz (2003-2005)
  • Betsy Broder (2005-2008)
  • Bill Nussbaum (2008-2009)
  • Larry Cooley (2009-2011)
  • Mary Beth Schiffman (2011-2013)
  • Jodi Enda (2013 – 2016)
  • Ed Lazere (2016 – 2017)
  • Marcia Silcox(2017 – present)

Members of the Board of Directors in 2019

Current Board:

Marcia Silcox, President; Joshua Berman, Vice President, Harriet Tritell, Secretary; Jeff Davis, Treasurer; Martha Adler, Shellie Bressler, Marina Fanning, Jim Hamos, Alison Harwood, Todd Jasper, Ed Lazere, Heather Moran, Sonia Pearson White, Robin Rudowitz, Josh Seidman.

Voices of Past Presidents

Jodi Enda, 2013-2016

During my tenure, we created an innovation fund.  We had always been a lab for innovation and now we had a way to pay for it…Being president of Temple Micah was one of the great honors of my life.